Sam Darnold

Extra Point

Hall of Famer
Sam Darnold was drafted by the Jets with the number 3 overall pick in the 2018 draft. He had a successful career at USC and carried the team on his back for two seasons.

Most analysts had a high opinion of Darnold before the draft. He has every chance of developing into a franchise quarterback.

Last edited:

Extra Point

Hall of Famer
There were discussions in the media about Darnold's arm strength before the draft. Some said it wasn't particularly strong while others, like Mike Mayock, said he had plus arm strength. It seemed OK to me, but nothing special, but I'm no expert.

There was no radar gun measurement of Darnold's arm strength at the Combine because Darnold didn't throw at the Combine. It was suggested by some that Darnold didn't throw at the Combine to cover up a weak arm.

What's everyone's opinion of Darnold's arm strength? Weak? Strong? I'm interested in everyone's opinion.

FootballDad

Hall of Famer
Watching him play at USC, his arm strength seemed fine. My concerns with Darnold is that he was very streaky. At times he was amazing, then he would play poorly and make bad reads, SMH-bad reads. His supporting crew also played somewhat unevenly, so it can't all be laid on Darnold's shoulders though. I'm hoping the coaching and Jets teammates can bring out the "good" Sam Darnold and he can shine.

Leonardfan

Hall of Famer
Darnold's arm strength is fine. I caught probably 80% of the USC games and he carried that team this past season. The line wasn't good and the skill position players weren't that great either. I felt he could of used another season at USC to get some more starts but overall his demeanor, athleticism, ability all point to him being a successful NFL player. Out of the top 4 QBs I feel that Darnold and Allen both had the best mentality and ability to handle the pressures of the NFL spotlight.

Extra Point

Hall of Famer