Explain please...

Poacher

Mentor
I'm relatively new to this MMA business and I need to ask a few questions. Excuse my ignorance.

1. UFC/PRIDE/K-1; These are different entities right?

2. Which organization pays their fighters more money?

3. Fighters can switch from one org to anoher can't they?

4. Do the champions of the respective orgs ever fight each other?

5. What are the significant rule differences between the orgs?

6. Which do you prefer and why?

Found this video: <a href="http://media.putfile.com/Fedor77" target="_blank">http://media.putfile.com/Fedor77

</a>

That is one tough mother...

White Shogun

Hall of Famer
1. Yes, they're different entities. Pride and K1 operate out of Japan, UFC in the USA.

2. Everyone says that Pride pays more money. Judging by the number of fighters they've signed, I'd say that opinion seems pretty accurate. But I haven't personally researched the salaries of athletes in any of the organizations to do a comparison.

3. Yes, they can, but most of them are signed to contracts to fight for one org and that org only. Occasionally they will have an inter-org tourney, but rarely.

4. No, the champs do not fight each other, except as mentioned in number 3, above. The MMA orgs are not sanctioning bodies like the WBA, WBO, IBF, etc in boxing. They are separate businesses with their own stable of fighters.

5. K1 is primarily a kickboxing tournament, although the inclusion of high-profile fighters with famous styles, like the Gracies, can get rules changes added to suit the style of those fighters. Basically its a ploy to get them in the ring, they won't fight without them.

I believe Pride and UFC have similar rules, although I *think* Pride allows a few more varieties of strikes than the UFC. They have changed so much from the beginning though, I don't know what the actual differences are.