Taking an Oath in Order to Lie

FootballDad

Hall of Famer
Here was a "conversation with God" blog that I came across recently that I found fascinating. The blogger was questioning why elected officials and the judiciary will destroy what they have an oath to uphold. Needless to say, it has quite a bit to do with the Talmud. Now, I'm not an expert by any means on Judaism, besides that it puts rabbinical commentary ahead of Scriptural principles.

KH: Hey Lord? I don't understand how our politicians and judges can take an oath to defend the Constitution and then ignore it or try to destroy it. Doesn't it bother their conscience?<?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

God: Son, I take oaths and vows very seriously (Leviticus 19:12; Deuteronomy 23:23; Psalm 66: 13-14; Matthew 5:33). Most people do as well but some have deceived themselves into justifying their oath breaking (Judges. 17:6; 21:25). They think they have fooled Me as well. Let's go for a walk to visit Solomon and then a religious celebration that many millions took part in earlier this week. "¦

KH: Wow! This place is beautiful! Where are we Lord?

God: Solomon's stables. Go talk with Solomon, Son.

KH: Ok Lord"¦ Excuse me King Solomon. Your stables are fancier than most houses I've ever seen. Can you tell me a little about them?

Solomon (SO): Sure. I take great pride in my horses and chariots. I get thousands of them from <?: prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:place w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">Egypt</st1:country-region></st1:place> (I Kings 10:28). I have 40,000 stalls for my horses and 4,000 more stalls for horses and chariots (I Kings 4:26; II Chronicles 9:25). *We have ten horses per chariot. We also have ten men per chariot (II Samuel 10:18; I Chronicles 19:18). They swap out during the battles so they don't get too tired.