lurker introduction

bigright

i have been lurking here for a long long time. i never decided to join until my kiddos got into sports and this past football season my anger just welled up so this may also soundlike a vent as well. sorry. anyway, i'm a 37 year old physician in texas. grew up in the chicagoland area. i had two things going against me in my athletic pursuits, one i am white, really really white and my parents thought it cool to start me in school early so i was, for a time, a 16 year old senior in highschool.
smiley7.gif

well, started off playing basketball at a small catholic school in 5th grade. i was told all the "facts" that the blacks were more athletic, even convinced by a coach they had an extra tendon in their legs that helped them run faster and jump higher.
smiley11.gif