The Waterboy And The Wolverine

This is my first work of fiction for Caste Football. Titled "The Waterboy And The Wolverine", it is a story about Rob, a white cornerback prospect with stars in his eyes who is given a heavy dose of reality in the big-time world of college football. Unable to face rejection, Rob struggles to find respect from the head coach down to his freshmen peers. Along the way, Rob befriends an ex-Wolverine player who experienced a somewhat similar fate. Rob soon realizes there is more to being a Michigan man than just donning the yellow and royal.

THE WATERBOY AND THE WOLVERINE

It wasn't easy accepting rejection.
All throughout high school I had played cornerback and somewhere along the way I made All-State and All-County. Being accepted to Michigan University was a dream come true, and everything seemed right with the world.
Little did I know that all that glittered wasn't gold. As an incoming freshman I truly believed I would win a coveted spot on the Wolverines. Two of their previous cornerbacks, Demetrius Woods and Keyshawn Carter, had entered the NFL draft and transferred to Central Ohio University, respectively. I was convinced that I was a shoo-in for the position.
Then came that day which sent me crashing back down to earth. Our defensive coordinator, Tony Tomlin, decided to choose another freshman cornerback instead. To add insult to injury, Tomlin selected a walk-on as the reserve cornerback (and he wasn't even a freshman!). When I asked him why I wasn't considered for a reserve slot or even a third-string, he told me I wasn't a fast runner. Also, I was neither athletic nor productive.