WR - Chris McGaha

DEFENSE
DT - David Smith
DT - Michael Marquardt
OLB - Travis Goethel

*updated (lost one defender) Edited by: jared

Colonel_Reb

Hall of Famer
TEMPE, Ariz. -- Arizona State quarterback Rudy Carpenter was unable to throw in practice Tuesday due to swelling in his sprained right thumb.

But coach Dennis Erickson said Carpenter is almost certain to play when the Sun Devils (No. 4 BCS, No. 6 AP) visit Oregon (No. 5 BCS, No. 4 AP) on Saturday.

Carpenter took snaps and handed off but didn't throw Tuesday, his first practice since he sprained the thumb handing off to tailback Keegan Herring in a 31-20 victory over California last weekend.

"He couldn't throw," Erickson said. "His thumb swelled up. It bothers him a little bit."

Erickson reacted with disbelief when asked if there was any chance Carpenter would sit out against the Ducks.

"He'll play," Erickson said. "I would be shocked if he didn't come out throwing by Thursday, but I'm not a doctor."

Carpenter didn't speak to reporters.

If Carpenter can't play, the Sun Devils would turn to sophomore Danny Sullivan, who has completed 11 of 14 passes for 91 yards and a touchdown in mop-up duty this season.

Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press

jared

Mentor
ASU's newspaper reported that Rudy Carpenter was throwing all over the field in practice last night. He should be good to go as the swelling continues to go down.

Colonel_Reb

Hall of Famer
That is great news jared!
smiley32.gif

jared

Mentor
I didn't realize until a few days ago that WR Chris McGaha was actually fairly highly rated by Rivals.com. He ran anchor on the 4x100 relay team for his high school.